Craigslist Scam Email

For those who are searching for specifics found in fake-looking emails, like myself :)

I’m selling my Asus Eee PC 1000H 10″ Netbook 160 GB Windows XP Green – $280 (USC). Here’s a reply to the listing from someone claiming to be “Angela Baker”:

Hi,

I am willing to pay your asking price
and $120 for the shipping and insurance
kindly send me an invoice via paypal
or give me your paypal account email id
as i cannot come to pick it up because
i am busy at work with a research. You
will be doing me a favor by mailing it
to my cousin ..thanks

(206-666-7327)
ANGELA

I actually called the phone number, just to see what would happen. There was a fax/voicemail system on the other end.

  1. April’s avatar

    Practically the same response on my ad selling my netbook:

    from Angela Baker
    to xxxxx xxx
    date Sun, Jan 3, 2010 at 3:11 PM
    subject Re: Acer Netbook – $300 (NW Houston)
    mailed-by gmail.com
    signed-by gmail.com
    hide details 3:11 PM (1 hour ago)
    Thanks for the prompt response……
    I am willing to pay your asking price
    and $120 for the shipping and insurance
    kindly send me an invoice via paypal
    or give me your paypal account email id
    as i cannot come to pick it up because
    i am on a vacation out of the State. You
    will be doing me a favor by mailing it
    to my cousin ..thanks

    (206-666-7327)
    ANGELA
    HAPPY NEW YEAR

    Reply

  2. christy’s avatar

    she told me basically the same thing! here is her response

    thanks for the response … i am willing to pay your asking
    price and additional 100 for the postage.I would have love to come
    pick it up but i,m disable, i lost my two legs in a car accident..i
    want to get this for my cousin as i can, t walk on my leg again
    .kindly get back to me with your paypal email address or send
    me a money request via paypal for payment asap….

    God bless
    (206-666-7327)
    ANGELA

    Reply

  3. Joe’s avatar

    Another one:

    Okay, I am willing to pay your asking price and $30 for the shipping
    and insurance kindly send me an invoice via paypal or give me your
    paypal account email id for payment if you have an account with paypal
    You will be doing me a favor by mailing it to my cousin in Arizona
    to this address below

    Brill Botsh’
    6725 E. Gary Road
    scottsdale, Az 85254

    (206-666-7327)

    Reply

  4. Adam’s avatar

    I got the same thing, But it was under the email was under the name Eric Jason and the item was selling for $900

    I never used paypal before so i shipped it and i went home and spoke to a paypal representative and found out it was a scam, so I went right back and picked up the package. Thankfully it was still there

    I received a fake email from pay pal saying i received a payment and with that address.

    “Dear Adam, You have an Instant Payment of $900 USD
    From “Eric Jason”(ericjason01@gmail.com)
    Transaction ID: #5Y758872CS5628811
    View the details of this transaction online

    It may take a few days for this transaction to appear in the Recent Activity list on your Account Overview.

    Payment Details from Eric Jason,

    Note: Ship via UPS Overnight Delivery Service.
    Shipping & Handling: UPS Overnight Delivery Service: (includes any seller packing fees) – $100.00 USD
    T otal: $900.00 USD

    Quantity
    Price
    Subtotal
    Not Specify
    Canon Vixa HF s100
    1
    $800.00 USD

    Delivery Information Address:
    Address Status:

    Brill Botsh
    6725 E. Gary Road scottsdale,
    Az 85254.

    Confirmed”

    Reply

  5. Glenn’s avatar

    OH! I just got scammed by tis guy! please don’t bother with it. its a total fake.
    Brill Botch, angela baker, … whoever…they are ll fakes and i learned my lesson

    Glenn

    Reply

  6. wdfowty’s avatar

    It is nice reading back from you,i am willing to pay your asking price
    and $100 for the shipping kindly send me an invoice via paypal or give
    me your paypal account email id for payment if you have an account
    with paypal or i can send you a personal check if you don’t mind. You
    will be doing me a favor by mailing it to my cousin
    in Arizona to this address below

    Brill Botsh’
    6725 E. Gary Road
    scottsdale, Arizona 85254

    (206-666-7327)

    I’m in northern california…
    i knew that my scammer-senses were tingling for good reason. I got one similar to this format about 3 months ago, only difference being they wanted me to ship to their daughter in west africa. hahaha

    Reply

  7. wdfowty’s avatar

    ok, quick follow up. i just googled the number, it comes up in the yellow pages as a fax # for “360 incorporated”, based in GEORGIA.

    Reply

  8. Jesse’s avatar

    fuck this douche bag, has anyone actually checked out the address to see what is in scottsdale? I have some contacts in pheonix that would be more than willing to go break this sorry-ass’s legs or at least get some info on where the little cunt might be

    Reply

  9. Bill’s avatar

    HAHAHAHAHHA

    andy botsch is a FUCKING DEAD MAN

    Reply