Spamming all Gmail accounts?

I found this in the inbox of a Gmail account whose address I never gave out in any way, shape, or form.

ADVERTISEMENT
to me
Hide options Sep 17 (3 days ago)
From: ADVERTISEMENT

To: quotas@gmail.com
Date: Fri Sep 17 12:51:06 PDT 2004
Subject: WEBSITES
Reply | Reply to all | Forward | Print | Add sender to contacts list | Trash this message | Show original

———————————————— # ———————————- # ——————————————–
Advertiser: J.E Fatuch - Webdesigner Winner Of “The Golden Web Awards” 2002 - 2003 - 2004
———————————————— # ———————————- # ——————————————–
Hello quotas,

I’d like to offer you my services of Webdesigner and Webmaster to build, redesign or update your website with the following options:

- Chat or Live Help - PRICE $1000

P.S.: If you don’t already have a Gmail account, you can get a Gmail invite here.

Leave a Message

66 Messages

Just found this in my Gmailbox:
Date: Sun Oct 03 11:18:42 PDT 2004
Subject: Orkut
Reply | Reply to all | Forward | Print | Add sender to contacts list | Trash this message | Show original
Hello,
Please can you invite me to join your friends network at Orkut.com?
My Name: J.E Fatuch
My Email: fatuch@ .com(deleted)
Thank you,
J.E

 

the guy emailed me too asking if i could join his friends network. so I emailed him back asking how he got my email. his reply:
I am Webdesigner, you can see my profile at Orkut.
As Webdesigner i have the ability to search some emails at Orkut and Gmail.
Il’d like to join your friend’s network. Reason: i need more
and more friends connected to me at Orkut.
GET THE INVITATION!

 

I got a similar one from a fatuch@gmail.com, asking me to join his friends’ network at Orkut.

 

Idem for me, but don’t you feel strange for a web awwarded designer there’s no url ?

 

I got the same thing, from a “secret” gmail account with a name that’s probably not guessable (not the one that appears on my webpage.)

 

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Message